There’s No Business Like Showbusiness

One of my favourite things to do is to go to the theatre. Although I’m happy to go along to a drama my favourite type of show is a musical.

I’ve seen most of the ‘biggies’ – Phantom of the Opera, Cats, Starlight Express, Sunset Boulevard, Evita etc along with more recent offerings such as Shrek and Matilda but I do have to say my favourite is Mamma Mia (of course it helps that I’m an ABBA fan!)

I know the ‘serious’ theatre critics turn their noses up at feel good shows but do you know what? I couldn’t give a stuff.

If you haven’t seen Mamma Mia (why not??) then you really should, from the moment that the overture starts a shiver runs down your spine. And of course even if you’re not a fan of ABBA’s music, you’ll know the songs. OK the story isn’t in the realms of Pinter but who cares – it’s just damn good fun.

Then of course we have Cats making a return to the West End during 2013 – another great show based on T.S. Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats. I must have seen the original show almost 20 times (if not more) but again it’s just a show that makes you feel good. One mistake though was when I took a friend to see it and I thought she knew that it was just a set of poems set to music with a very limited plot. At the end of Act I, her look of total confusion was a picture and after I explained that she wasn’t losing the plot as there wasn’t on she enjoyed Act II a whole lot more.

Do you have a favourite musical? Why not add a comment or message me and we can get a bit of a musicals lovers group together…or something.

I’m new to blogging so don’t know how these things work – feel free to email me at ian@imjphotoart.co.uk to explain how to do this blog thing better!

So enough of this rambling – this post doesn’t really have a point or a message I just thought I would share a very brief thoughts on musicals – and don’t forget, let me know which your faves are too.

Until next time…..’you are the dancing queen, young and sweet only seventeen, oooh oooooh. You can dance, you can jive………….’

Leave a Reply

